Report on Annual Day - 2015 & Prize Distribution

event-photos The Annual Day of Bhagini Nivedita College was held on April 18, 2015 in the college campus. Shri Praveen Deshmukh, Parliamentary Secretary to the Education Minister, Government of NCTD was the Chief Guest. Dr. Gulab Jha, Regional Director, IGNOU was the Guest of Honour. Prof. S. L. Malik, Chairman of the Governing Body of the College presided. Shri Amar Singh, Sarpanch, Shri Risal Singh and Shri Sardar Singh from the Village kair were among the distinguished Guests.

Principal, Dr Purabhi Saikia presented the Annual Report of the College for the academic year 2014-15, in which she recounted the achievements of the students in the field of academics and sports as well as the significant contributions made by faculty members and staff.

Chief Guest, Shri Deshmukh in his address congratulated the students on their excellent academic performance, which was indeed very commendable in the context of the rural backgrounds from which most of them hailed. He exhorted the faculty members and staff to focus their attention on constantly improving the quality of education provided to the students and assured that the Delhi Government will take care of the need for introducing more courses and providing the necessary infrastructure. He also emphasised the need for translating the new campus shown in the architect's model in to a reality soon.

Guest of Honour Dr Gulab Singh in his address complimented the students on their excellent performance and observed that they should strive for applying the theoretical knowledge gained from their education in practical ways so as to become productive individuals. Prof. S L Malik also praised the students for producing excellent results and added that the Governing Body of the college is very keen to motivate the students to excel in their studies. This is why the Governing Body has instituted from out of its funds, a merit scholarship of Rs 1000 for students scoring over 90% in any paper and full fee remission for students scoring over 90% in all papers.

Shri Amar Singh, Sarpanch of Kair Village mentioned that he was personally committed to the mission of establishing a girl's college in Kair. Apart from the land already donated to the college, the village is also proposing to provide one acre of additional land to the college. This will ensure that the college has no space constraint for its expansion and growth.

The prize distribution function commenced with the presentation of special trophies Ms Vandana Kumari who won the Best Student Award (B. Sc. (G)) and Dr Rachna Mohan, who received the Best Teacher Award from the Delhi Government during the current academic year. After the Chief Guest left, the prizes were distributed by the Guest of Honour Dr Gulab Jha.

The event was compered by Dr Meenu Abhi. Dr Alokka Dutta, convenor of the Prizes Committee announced the names of the prize and award winners. The annual day function closed with the vote of thanks delivered by Dr Nalini Mathur, Secretary of the Staff Council of the College.

Please visit the photo gallery section for more photographs of this event